Professional Societies

Indian Society of Weed Science (ISWS)

REGD. NO. SOR/BLU/DR/518/08-09
(Old REGD. NO. 183,80-81)

Website Url -

Indian Society of Weed Science (ISWS) was established in 1968 at Hisar, coinciding with the green revolution in the country. Prof. M.K. Moolani of CCS Haryana Agricultural University was the founder President of the society. CCS Haryana Agricultural University, Hisar was the headquarters of the society till 2005, except for about a decade (1980-1992) during which it was shifted to Bangalore. Presently Jabalpur is the headquarters since 2006. ISWS was registered under the Karnataka Societies Registration Act, 1960 on 1 July 1980, onward no action was taken for its renewal. Hence society was re-registered by the present executive under the Karnataka Societies Registration Act, 1960 with Registration No. SOR/BLU/DR/518/08-09. The official emblem of the society was designed by Dr. Bibhas Ray, the then Chief Agronomist, Farm Chemicals Ltd., New Delhi in 1977.

The objectives of the Society are

  • To promote the knowledge of weed science and allied branches.
  • To encourage research in the scientific and practical aspects, in different disciplines of weed science.
  • To provide opportunity through periodical meetings and scientific conferences for personal contacts and discussions for the research workers in the field of weed science.
  • To publish periodically scientific articles contributed by members and/or eminent scientists in the field of weed research in the country and abroad.


Executive Body Name/Address Photo
President Dr. N.T. Yaduraju,
Principal Scientist – ICT4D, KSI
International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics, Hyderabad 502 324 (A.P.) INDIA
Mobile - +91 7893982456
Vice-President Dr. C. Chinnusamy, 
Dean (I/c)

Agricultural College and Research Institute 
Madurai - 625 104, (T.N.) INDIA
Mobile :- +91 9443721575
Email :-, 
Dr. Ramesh Kumar Singh,
Professor of Agronomy
Department of Agronomy, Institute of Agriculture 
Sciences,B.H.U., Varanasi-221 005 (Uttar Pradesh), INDIA
Mobile Number: +91 9450533438 
Secretary Dr. A.R. Sharma,
Directorate of Weed Research, 
Maharajpur, Adhartal, Jabalpur 482 004 (M.P.) INDIA
Mobile - +91 9425807290
Joint Secretary Dr. P.S. Bodake, 
(Associate Professor of Agronomy)
Agronomist (NARP) Dryland Sub Centre, Agroforestry, MPKV, Rahuri, Ahmednagar - 413 722, (Maharashtra).
Mobile :- +91 9420413255
Email :-
Joint Secretary
Dr. M.S. Bhullar, 
Senior Agronomist, Department of Agronomy, 
Punjab Agricultural University, Ludhiana-141 004 (Punjab)

Mobile Number:  9872811350
MS Bhullar
Treasurer Dr. Shobha Sondhia,
Directorate of Weed Research, 
Maharajpur, Adhartal, Jabalpur 482 004 (M.P.) INDIA
Mobile - +91 9425464977
Chief Editor Dr. Sushilkumar
Directorate of Weed Research, 
Maharajpur, Adhartal, Jabalpur 482 004 (M.P.) INDIA
Mobile - +91 9425186747
Our Mission

खरपतवार सम्बंधित अनुसंधान व प्रबंधन तकनीकों के माध्यम से देश की जनता हेतु उनके आर्थिक विकास एंव पर्यावरण तथा सामाजिक उत्थान में लाभ पहुचाना।

"To Provide Scientific Research and Technology in Weed Management for Maximizing the Economic, Environmental and Societal Benefits for the People of India."

Forthcoming Events
Visitors Counter

Last Updated : May 19, 2017